Meet Lucille Board of Directors I.H.M. History Mission Statement Scholarship Info Scholarship Winners FAQ's Contact Us

Lucille Rader Education Foundation Scholarships


The Lucille Rader Education Foundation was founded in memory of the Sisters of the Immaculate Heart of Mary who devoted their lives to excellence in teaching.

The scholarship program was designed to assist girls from Los Angeles Archdiocese Catholic schools who have demonstrated excellence in academics and athletics, as well as good moral character.

Each year, the Foundation awards a college scholarship to two or more senior Catholic girls who best exemplify the Foundation's ideals. The scholarship recipients are selected based on a number of factors, including an application essay, high school transcripts, athletic participation, and financial need.

Our scholarship recipients have gone on to attend the following universities:

Bard CollegeBoston UniversityCalifornia Lutheran UniversityColorado School of MinesHarvard UniversityJohns Hopkins UniversityLoyola Marymount University Massachusetts Institute of TechnologySanta Clara UniversityStanford University
UC BerkeleyUC San DiegoUCLAUniversity of AlbanyUniversity of Notre Dame University of OregonUniversity of San DiegoUniversity of San FranciscoUniversity of Southern CaliforniaWashington University (St. Louis)

Who's Eligible:

To qualify for the scholarship program, applicants must be female Catholic 12th grade students at Los Angeles Archdiocese schools who have participated in team sports, and have a minimum, unweighted high school GPA of 3.2 (or 3.5 if weighted).

When To Apply:

Details and deadlines for each year's award are announced in February of the award year. The application deadline is typically in late March or early April, however both the announcement and deadline dates are subject to change. Applications and associated documents are accepted from the announcement date until the posted deadline.

The 2024 scholarships:

This year, two scholarships will be awarded, each valued at $40,000, distributed evenly over four years. To maintain the annual award, scholarship recipients must maintain a 2.75 college GPA and submit proof of their academic standing at the end of each school year.

The deadline to apply for the 2024 scholarship award is Tuesday, March 26, 2024. All application materials (including sealed or e-mailed transcripts) must be received by this date.

The financial needs of the applicants may be a factor in the determination of the awarding of scholarships.

How to apply:

Before you can apply for our scholarship award, you'll need each of the following items. Once you've prepared and gathered these items, click the "I'm ready to apply!" button below.

To apply for a scholarship, you will need:

  1. Your high school's contact information, your guidance counselor's name, your GPA, and anticipated graduation date
  2. Your athletic history, including year/semester, sports played, and level reached
  3. A short financial statement (under 250 words) explaining why you need the money
  4. A personal essay responding to the following prompt:

    One definition for the word influence by Merriam Webster is the power or capacity of causing an effect in indirect or intangible ways. Please select a historical figure, a fictional character, or a creative work (as in art, music, or science) that has had a significant influence on you and elaborate on that influence. In your essay, provide concrete examples to explain how your selected figure, character, or work has influenced you.

    This is your opportunity to convey your ideas and experience. Do not exceed 500 words, and use an acceptable font such as Times New Roman 12-point with one-inch margins. Please note: all essays submitted will be subject to a plagiarism check.

IMPORTANT: Your official high school transcripts must also be submitted before the Tuesday, March 26, 2024 application deadline!

All transcripts must be an official, digital copy from the school counselor or registrar, and emailed to Failure to submit the transcript by midnight on the application deadline may result in disqualification from the scholarship process.

To that end, it is your responsibility to request a transcript from your school officials as soon as possible.

Finalists will be notified in early April. Finalist interviews will be conducted via Zoom in mid-April. Finalists will be subject to a short, supervised writing exercise at the time of the interview. Exact details will be shared with the finalists prior to their interviews.

Sound good? When you're ready, click the button below to begin the online scholarship application.